Skip to content

Post Traumatic Stress Disorder

August 19, 2012

A lot of you may have heard about this thing called Post Traumatic Stress Disorder from the news where troops returning from war suffer it, perhaps you have it yourself. I have it, along with anxiety disorder. Lots of fun.
In my life I have been through tornadoes, floods, blizzards, my parents divorce (which was bitter), the deaths of three grandparents, mother, baby nephew, many close relatives & good friends, two pretty serious traffic accidents, poverty, loving in the hood for a time, my mother abused me for a time & also took off on my sister & I, and other things. The accidents & divorce probably did the worst of it.
No, my life was not just all tragedy & nothing else, there were quite a few good times but perhaps more than my share of bad times too.
Mom and I, we did make up and became pretty close (people often mistook her for my girlfriend because she looked so young and pretty, until she ended up with cancer). I did spend about 25 of my 36 years without her in my life.
Well, unfortunately, I end up having some pretty bad episodes like last week which I end up in the hospital. I am grateful for the support I have: a supervisor at work, a manager, my girlfriend (who happens to be bipolar but perhaps the sweetest girl anyone could have), my buddies Michael, Jamie, Justin, Mimi, Larry & my dad who is always there (sometimes when I don’t want him lol) but he also held two and three jobs to help keep the bills paid & my sister & I fed when mom left us.
I had my first job at the age of 13, as did my dad & my grandpa. I first rode the public bus at the age of 12 to help keep what was left of my family going. I still ride the bus 24 years later & work on their committee and am a director of a local transportation board. Not an easy feat considering all the hurdles I have overcome in my life. I plan and am working on bigger and better things as well. Anything is possible with God in your life.

From → opinion

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

