Skip to content
Tags

ARE YOU SERIOUS???

February 22, 2012

As a librarian, I am amazed how many people think it is okay to yap on the phone whil in the library. Look, when I was born, we did not have these cellular phones and iphones and other gadgets. The library is a PLACE TO READ & STUDY & LEARN. Years ago, the people respected that. Guess not any more. People also used to have manners years ago, as well.

I am 36 years old and my first recollections of a library were the need for the librarians to hand-stamp the manila card that was inserted into a pocket in the back of the book, they did not have scanners and receipt printers like we do now. Nor did the library have computers until the late 1980s. Where do people get this idea that it is okay to disrespect or disobey rules??? You want to disobey rulesm do it on your own time, I aint got time for that crap. My co-workers and I enforce the rules. It is not our fault that there are some who do not.

The policy code specifically says that cell phone usage and obnoxious, disruptive behaviors are NOT allowed in the library (all libraries in the entire system, not just mine.) And, the staff has the right and authority to put you out (and ban you) if you do not comply. I am soooo glad that I am NOT from this newer generation who thinks they can get away with everything. True, I may not pay your phone bill, but you still have to follow the rules. You do not like the rules, the GO SOMEWHERE ELSE, I aint got no time for your stupidity!

And learn some manners while you’re at it. A few manners goes a long way!

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

